News Photo
Men's Swimming - Fri, Nov. 18, 2011
Oklahoma Baptist won its first home swimming and diving competition, taking William Jewell 75-38 in the men's dual and 69-48 in the women's. (Facebook photos)

OBU won all but one event on the day.

More importantly to the long-term plans, OBU had 18 new automatic qualifying marks and seven new bonus qualifying marks.

With the first meet, all winning times are now pool records.

Kerryn Mullin, Lizzy Dewitt, Laura Galarza and Grace Peters won the first event in the pool, taking the 200 meter medley relay in 2:04.91.

The men's team of Corey Day, Greg Penny, AJ Barbar and Nick Schuttinger followed that with a win of their own in 1:51.49.

Lauren Spray won the 200 freestyle in 2:13.50 to punch her ticket to the NAIA meet. She also was second in the 200 individual medley, meeting the bonus standard at 2:35.87.

Peters won the 50 free in 29.09 and she can be joined in the NAIA meet by teammates Alice Oggionni (29.22) and Katleen Debus (29.85) who made bonus standards.

Galarza won the 100 butterfly in 1:07.80 and Emma Forbes-Milne won the 100 free in 1:01.62. Both of those were qualifying marks, but both swimmers were already headed to the NAIA meet. Peters had a bonus mark in the 100 free at 1:04.01.

Mullin became a qualifier in the 100 backstroke with a win at 1:09.52.

Nicole Wilson won the 400 free to qualify with a 4:34.65.

Dewitt won the 100 breaststroke to earn a spot in the national meet at 1:19.52.

Holly Trumble captured the 800 free in 9:40.57.

Jessica Bragason won the 50 meter backstroke in 31.43, Mullin won the 50 breaststroke in 34.84 and Galarza won the 50 butterfly in 29.55.

Debus, Forbes-Milne, Alexandra Faulkner and Galarza won the 200 freestyle relay in 1:53.86 - a qualifying time.

All five Lady Bison divers qualified for the NAIA meet, though winner Tara DeWall had already made that cut. She scored a 269.38 while Rachel Schneider scored a 246.60, Michaela Patterson a 239.15, Kaitlin Slothower a 214.35 and Kate McVey at 209.20.

Corey Day qualified for the NAIA meet in 1:58.17 in the 200 freestyle. He also won the 100 freestyle to add his name to the NAIA list with a 54.17. Garland Sullivan joined him in the 100 free, taking second at 54.69.

Daniel Ramirez and Javier Sossa went 1-2 in the 100 butterfly in 56.79 and 59.54, qualifying both for the NAIA meet.

Garland Sullivan and Jacob Phillips did the same in the 50 freestyle at 24.11 and 24.24, respectively.

Logan Lassley and Max Abreu are headed to the NAIA meet with a 1-2 finish in the 100 backstroke. Lassley swam it in 1:00.69 and Abreu was second at 1:01.61.

Penny won the 100 breaststroke and had already qualified for the NAIA and Cameron Abe reached the bonus time at 1:08.61. Abe also won with a bonus standard of 2:15.66 in the 200 individual medley.

Andrew Nelson won the 400 meter free in 4:17.13, but already had a qualifying mark there.

Gilles Cantrelle won the 800 free in 9:00.97.

Mateo Maciuniak won the 50 backstroke in 27.44, Schuttinger took the 50 breaststroke in 32.05 and Ramirez won the 50 butterfly in 25.35.

Barbar, Alvaro Brice, Phillips and Lassley won the 200 free relay at 1:36.66 for a qualifying mark.

Jarod Haynes qualified in one-meter diving at 253.32, while Daniel Robbins met the bonus standard at 219.80.

OBU will send its divers to Little Rock, Ark., Dec. 1 to wrap up the pre-Christmas portion of the schedule.